harpcolumn

Composer looking for a collaborator

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Repertoire Composer looking for a collaborator

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    roger-illingworth
    Participant

Hey there,

I’m a student composer, currently trying to learn how to write for harp. I’d like to find a kind and open-minded soul willing to look over a score as I work on it over the next few days. It won’t be focused on extended techniques, just quite chromatic which is where I need help – trying to work out what’s possible and what’s not!

I posted an early draft yesterday but got shy and pulled it down when the comments confirmed very publicly the mountain I have to climb! So I’d rather communicate via private messages.

Hope someone can help!

x

carl-swanson
    Participant

If you really want to write for the harp, then take some harp lessons. You don’t have to become a virtuoso harp player. You just have to take enough lessons to think like a harp player and to hear what the instrument can and cannot do.

Gretchen Cover
    Participant

Carl and others,

Roger needs help right now. Lessons won’t solve his immediate need although in the long-term it would be great if he could learn about the instrument first hand. As harpists, we should be THANKFUL that a composer wants to write for the harp. Roger is brave to admit he doesn’t know about the harp and secure enough to ask for advice. I hope someone experienced in orchestration will help him out. A composer writing harp parts deserves to be supported.

Are there any harpists at your university or a sister university?

Tacye
    Participant

It seems to me that a large part of the art of being an orchestral composer is writing for instruments you don’t play.