harpcolumn

Complete beginner, new harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Complete beginner, new harp

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    FilipaPaixao

Hi everyone!

I’m new here and a complete beginner when it comes to the harp, and I was hoping some of you could help me.
    I’ve been wanting to learn how to play the harp for some time and so my parents decided to surprise me and give me one for christmas. It’s “homemade” so I can’t tell you its brand or model, but it has 26 strings and levers on all of them (I’ll attach a photo).
    Until I got it I hadn’t really read about how to start learning and how to choose an harp, so I did a little research and I kept reading that your first harp should have at least 34 strings if not more, to allow you to play most songs, and that an harp with less strings should be a secondary harp, for when you already know how to play and just want something portable.
    So, can I still learn with a 26 string harp? Is it true that I won’t be able to play most songs in it?

(the image is flipped because of the camera)
    my harp

Welcome, Filipa!

I think you should be able to get by with a 26 string harp, at least for a little while. There are plenty of song books made for lap harp, and you can search this forum where people list their favorites. The difficulty with the 26-string is holding it securely enough as you play. A 34+ string harp is big enough to sit on the ground with you at a comfortable level, allowing you to pluck away without concern of the harp teetering on your lap. I have seen videos of people with smaller harps with the harp placed on a bench to raise it up a bit. If you really enjoy the harp (which, of course, you will), you can look into investing in something larger in the future and keep the 26 as a harp to take “out and about.”