harpcolumn

Can the pedal harp be self-taught?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play Can the pedal harp be self-taught?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    louie-p–2
    Participant

I have been a lever harpist for five years. I’m curious if the transition to the pedal harp is hard.

Thanks!

There are countless tips and helps a good teacher could help you with, in just a few months of lessons, to shorten your learning curve considerably.

hannah-anderson
    Participant

I’m not an expert by any means, but from my experience transitioning to pedal harp (albeit at age 9) the pedal part of the pedal harp is the easiest part of the transition. What I’d be most concerned about with being self-taught is proper hand technique. Playing the pedal harp just requires a much different technique than most people learn with the Celtic harp. I would not recommend being self-taught simply because its easy to get into bad habits quickly, and you can end up with bad technique on both pedal and Celtic harp. . .which would be bad 🙂
    Anyways, good luck!

ellen-beckerman
    Participant