harpcolumn

Brand new to harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Brand new to harp

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    HBrock25
    Participant

Hello. I am just beginning with a small lap harp. I am teaching myself. I have 46 yrs. experience playing classical piano. I know music well. My question is on finger position on the harp. After completing a simple passage…..for example – right hand descending: 1 2 3 4 (any strings…
    F E D C), must I physically have my fingers placed on and squeezing the next sequence of strings in the next measure before plucking them? In other words if the next measure calls for right hand to then play: B A G F, must I have all four fingers pressing on these strings at once before plucking them individually? I’d appreciate any advice. Thanks
    SMR

Elizabeth L
    Participant

It will be much easier to learn if you get a teacher who is familiar with folk harp.

HBrock25
    Participant

Thank you for your response. I wish I could, but that just is not feasible for me right now. I do feel confident that with my musical background I can slowly achieve this. Naturally the watchful eye and experience of a harp teacher would be best, but for now I am hoping to rely on the good graces of anyone who would be willing to provide a few pointers for me now and then. I have patience. I just need a little guidence. Thank you again.

diana-day
    Participant

Hi, Sheila;

There are some

HBrock25
    Participant

Thank you Diana.
    Am I in the wrong place to ask questions, I wonder? I did look at Josh Layne’s videos. I found them helpful, although for some reason the sequence was off and some seemed to be missing. Just looking to be able to speak with in a forum environment rather than relying soley on video. Are you able to answer my question about finger placement?