harpcolumn

Block chords, how to play them gently

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play Block chords, how to play them gently

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Tara Schoepke
    Participant

I’ve been playing the harp for about 6 months. I listened to a recording of myself and noticed that whenever I play a block chord, it sounds terrible. The analogy I draw is that it sounds like a kid pounding on the piano. It sounds very harsh and blunt.

How do I make it sound more gentle and elegant? I tried doing some flowy wrist movements, but it didn’t seem to make a difference. But I also don’t really know what I’m doing!😄

Any ideas on what I should work on would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Biagio
    Participant

If you are playing 3 or 4 notes together as blocked chord it may well sound terrible no matter how long you have been playing, so don’t worry. ALL must be played simultaneously (not too easy to do, actually at first) Timing is everything.

Here’s a suggestion: just play a lot of chords by themselves in different configurations: standard 1-3-5-8, 1-5-8, 1-5-3, 1-3-5etc. Play them VERY slowly and listen VERY CAREFULLY. What sounds most pleasing to you?

Honestly, it could be just the way your harp sounds, not your technique but ya know, blocked chords on the harp are not that common in my experience, unless played very fast, and they are usually damped, where they are almost a passing tone.

Hope that helps!
    Biagio

balfour-knight
    Participant