harpcolumn

Arthritis in my hands

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Professional Harpists Arthritis in my hands

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    lynda-jardine
    Participant

Does anyone have experience in minimizing the stiffness and arthritis in the fingers?

diana-day
    Participant

I’m sorry you’re having this trouble. I had basal joint arthritis in one thumb when I started playing several years ago.I began taking Cosamin DS three times daily and went from being able to play ten or fifteen minutes to a couple of hours a day. I think it’s one of the few glucosamine supplements that’s batch tested to prove it has the ingredients on the label! I talked with a hand surgeon who said that sometimes operations on joints work, and sometimes they don’t.

I hope your hand gets better, and soon!

You can have injections in the joints which can give relief for several months, and paraffin soaks are supposed to help. I don’t know about surgery.

armande-fryatt
    Participant

Have you tried Cortaflex joint supplement?

Armande

cynthy-johnson
    Participant

I had

ali brown

I am sure cortisone jabs help as a last resort . I would suggest u take cod liver oil liquid every day. you also need to think how you sleep, be sure you are sleeping on the opposite side to the issue, and always sleep with a special neck pillow.

barbara-low
    Participant

Hi, Lynda. I’m sorry about what’s going on with your hands. Is your doctor recommending surgery?