harpcolumn

Are Venus Harps as good as Lyon & Healy?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Are Venus Harps as good as Lyon & Healy?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 112 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

I’ve been considering to buy a new concert harp. However I got stuck

when considering which brand should i buy. I’ve long heard that Lyon

& Healy is good (I play it myself), but I also wonder if Venus harps

are good. Have to make sure the harp I’d be buying is that best as

it’s going to be with me for a life time. Somebody please tell which

one is better, Lyon & Healy or Venus??

unknown-user
    Participant

I have been playing on my Lyon and Healy style 19 harp for 6 years now and even though my harp is 90 years old, it still is in tact and plays beautifully.

unknown-user
    Participant

I started playing harp at age 12 and have had the opportunity to play lever and pedal harps in many brands (Lyon and Healy, Venus, Salvi, and some miscellaneous others) for many years.

unknown-user
    Participant

I definately prefer Lyon & Healy. It is my understanding that the reason why Lyon & Healy harps have a slanted colum is to help aging. The immense pressure put on a harp because of the strings can cause a harp to buckle or fall apart over time. To conteract this problem, Lyon & Healy has provided a solution, the slanted colum. The colum alleviates the pressure and will straighten out little by little over time. I am sorry if I am wrong but I do not think Venus harps have this slanted colum and if the harp is cracked or knicked in just the right place the frame could collapse.

unknown-user
    Participant

I first learned on a Salvi Orchestra model and loved the warm and rich sound it projected.