harpcolumn

43 string harps?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories 43 string harps?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Liz
    Participant

Im a newbie to harp (pedal harp)
    i know that typically harp has 46-47 strings. for someone looking for a first pedal harp, is a 43 string harp in good condition a good buy? The price is a lot cheaper, but is it bad to have less strings?
    are the proportions different from 43 string pedal harps to 47 string? what is the difference in range?
    thank you so much

Tacye
    Participant

Smaller pedal harps can be very good for a few years, or indeed for ever depending on the music you play. Which maker are you looking at? I can’t immediately think of a modern maker who does 43 strings (though I can think of 40, 41, 42 and 44 string models) and if you are looking to buy an antique that will need its own consideration aside from just the number of strings.

Liz
    Participant

a wurlitzer 43 string harp. it was given full repairs a few years ago

carl-swanson
    Participant

If the harp is in good condition then you should give it serious consideration. A lot depends on your own height as well as what you want to do with it. I sell a lot of used pedal harps on my web site, wwww.swansonharp.com, and many of the people looking for, and buying smaller harps are professionals who want it as a gig harp for weddings and background music, because it’s easy to move, looks good, and has enough range for what they will be playing on it.

jessica-wolff
    Participant

I just love those smaller harps.

I personally think older harps look prettier than new ones!!