harpcolumn

Youth Orchestra

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Young Harpists Youth Orchestra

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Sarah Modene

I have been playing the harp for about three-four years, as well as the piano
    for about ten years (I’m a composer for both instruments but mainly piano).
    However, recently I have been pursuing the harp quite seriously (in the range
    of classical pieces) and have been considering my options for putting it into
    action (I’m home-schooled and in my junior year, so I’ll graduate in ’07; also, I
    guess you could say that I’m past intermediate level but not quite in advanced
    because of my handicap, or, my lever harp- the mobility is a major issue!).

S M
    Participant

This is really funny; I just got on to ask pretty much the same question.

You should get the biggest and best harp you can afford, since some repertoire goes right
    down to the low C and up to the high G. You want a harp with a bright sound that can be
    heard over the orchestra. And get a travelling trunk and a harp dolly, in case of touring.
    There are repertoire lists for symphonic orchestras, but they are probably more difficult
    and comprehensive than for most youth orchestras. Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique,
    Rimsky-Korsakov’s Capriccio Espagnol, Britten’s Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra,
    for example, are standards on professional audition lists. Buy the book “The Harp in the
    Orchestra” by Beatrice Schroeder Rose. It is mentioned elsewhere on this list. It has lots of
    excerpts, and how to play them. Also, contact the youth orchestras and ask them about
    their audition requirements.

unknown-user
    Participant

Dear Sarah,

My daughter, who will graduate from high school next year, just joined a youth orchestra: the Calgary Youth Orchestra.