harpcolumn

Words of Encouragement?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Words of Encouragement?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    paul-wren
    Participant

I?m feeling a bit down at the moment and looking for some

inspiration I guess.

unknown-user
    Participant

I have been a lever harp teacher for over 10 years and can assure you that you are not alone in the feelings you are having! In fact I have a similar situation that I have quite recently faced. I moved about a year and a half ago and had to start all over again getting known in my new community, trying to attract students, pick up a few gigs, etc. Things were pretty slow and so meanwhile I joined our local symphony where they let me play cello with them!

carl-swanson
    Participant

Paul- I know too little about your situation to

When you’re playing chamber music, you have to be able to play it at the correct tempo, so

it’s always good to check with the other musicians to make sure that you are all in

agreement about the tempi of each movement. If you cannot play it up to speed, then they

all have to agree to play more slowly, or choose an easier piece.

unknown-user
    Participant

The people you’re playing with may be jerks. Harpists have a different
    burden in chamber music, and other instrumentalists have expectations
    that don’t necessarily match. Be prepared as a boy scout, and
    especially think about playing rhythmically. Explain to them that your
    arpeggiated chords finish with the beat on the top/last note ( I hope
    they do). Use the rehearsal to know what to do to prepare for the next
    one. I guess you were disoriented by the presence of the other players.
    What piece is it? Preparation is your best insurance, and have some
    pride in yourself, man. Don’t let people get you down. If you don’t