harpcolumn

Which harp?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Which harp?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    lynda-thompson
    Participant

Hello everyone!

I am getting ready to buy a harp, but have no opportunity to hear the two i am considering. Does anyone have experience with the Stoney End Brittany, or the Dusty Strings Ravenna?

I am drawn to the look (Irish shape and nice wood) of the Brittany, but the Ravenna has a slightly greater range and larger size. I intend to play mainly for my own pleasure, so the 22 string range probably wont hold me back much if i go with the Brittany. I owned a Dusty Crescendo in the past, so i have some experience with Dusty Strings, though I’m not sure how the Less expensive Ravenna line would compare.

I just keep feeling that the Dusty is probably better quality but the Brittany is prettier and i hope someone has heard both.

Thank you for any opinions!

Lynda Thompson

lyn-boundy
    Participant

I don’t have enough experience of either harp to be able to give an informed opinion here but I would just say that – all other things being equal – I would always go for the greater number of strings. I started off with a 26 string Harpsicle but soon felt limited and invested in a 34 string Clarsach (because of major back problems, 34 strings are the most I can manage in terms of weight and size for moving around) and now I can’t imagine how I ever coped with only 26 strings.

Obviously, if you are a very experienced player, you will know whether this is going to bother you but if you are still learning and broadening your repertoire I suspect there might quite quickly come a time when you felt the need to go up a size again and those booming bass notes are irresistable.

lynda-thompson
    Participant

Thanks for the nice reply, Lyn.