harpcolumn

Which harp for early music?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Which harp for early music?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Hello!
    I am new to both to the harp (just had my first harp lesson last week!) and to reading music. I will be renting a harp for the next few months and then hope to buy one in the near future. My question is: I am particularly interested in early music..medieval, renaissance, even baroque and am wondering what a good harp for a beginner-on-a-budget would be, given my musical interests? I see many beginners on this site looking into the Dusty Strings Ravenna 26–but am not sure if that would be suitable for someone like me? Or if 34 strings might be better & expand the repetoire of early music I could play? As I said, I am a complete novice so any suggestions are much appreciated!
    Thanks,
    Anna

unknown-user
    Participant

In general, if you get the most strings that you can afford, you’ll expand the range of pieces you can play.

When I was planning to get a harp, I bought some music and browsed through it. I wanted to get a head start on remembering how to read music. As I collected music, I started to realise that the 30 strings I had been thinking of would not be enough. I ended up buying a 36 string Blevins floor

John McK
    Participant

Aside from the range issue, there’s also the issue of modern vs. period technique to consider. Would you and/or your teacher be able to adapt to different string tension and spacing with a replica instrument?

Thanks for the replies!