harpcolumn

What kind of harp used in Les Miserables ?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Coffee Break What kind of harp used in Les Miserables ?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    mike-c
    Participant

I’m somewhat of a Broadway enthusiast and enjoy listening to cast recording albums. I heard in Les Mis what sounds like a harp, but I’m not sure. In the song “A Little Fall of Rain”, in the first few bars, there is what sounds to me like a harp in the background, but it seems very different from a pedal or lever harp. It sounds almost “rubbery” or “spring-y”.Does anybody know what this instrument is ?I suppose it could be some sort of synthesizer sound, or maybe the rubbery sound I’m hearing is actually a percussion instrument like a marimba ? I’m not a professional musician so I’m just guessing. Any experts know for certain ?

Thanks!

PS the album I’m referring to would be the original NYC production, not the London cast recording.

lynne lockwood
    Participant

looks to me like lyon and healy 23 gold..and there might have been two playing. (yay live musicians in musicals)

Check out the 25th anniversary video of les miz

lynne lockwood
    Participant

Check out the 25th anniversary edition of the show. They used two lyon and healy 23 gold concert harps. SOO beautiful. You can play this music using the les miz piano version. It’s just lovely.

William Y
    Participant