column

Want to learn how to play the harp, which to choose?

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Want to learn how to play the harp, which to choose?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    vicky-s
    Participant

Hi!
    Sorry for another “newbie” thread! I am thinking of buying a harp… I live in France, which is why I’m mainly talking about harps I’ve seen can be found here. I’m also a student, so getting a harp would require quite a bit of saving up and summer jobs, and maybe my parent’s help (and there’s paying for lessons too..)
    Based on everything I’ve read so far, I’d like a lever harp with about 34 strings or so, and maybe, eventually, a smaller one too.

I’m hesitating between a Ravenna 34 or a Camac Hermine now, and then getting a more portable (like a lap harp or one of those therapy harps) later.
    Or getting a Ravenna 26 now, and then waiting and saving up for a few years. (For a Ravenna 34, FH 34, Camac Hermine, Melusine, Aziliz… )

I’ve never played, so this is just the result of lots of internet research! The music I like on Youtube seems to be played on these sorts of harp. I love celtic music, and some lap harp songs, but also contemporary piano music (like Yan Tiersen, Yiruma or Michael Nyman’s music on the harp) and some classical (like Pachelbel’s canon, Debussy’s clair de lune, Ave Maria…. ) I’m not thinking of ever playing on a pedal harp though. I don’t think I’ll want to play particularly loudly either.

Right now I’m leaning towards the first option though, either the Camac Hermine or Ravenna 34…
    Any opinions on these harps? What is the difference in sound, ect? In France, both cost about the same, though the Ravenna might cost a bit more…

Thanks!

jimmy-h

If I lived in France then Camac would be more attractive. An in country manufacturer means much closer support if you should need it. There are a lot of lovely French players on youtube using Camac’s as well.

deb-l
    Participant