Tunings

Posted In: Amateur Harpists

• Participant
    unknown-user on #164752

I’m relatively new to the lever harp.

Participant
    unknown-user on #164753

Hello Mary Umbarger

I play a 26-string lever harp and have a new carryable lever harp ordered and due to arrive in May.

What are alternative tunings?

Participant
    unknown-user on #164754

It depends on what kind of music you play. In a nutshell, (and there’s a lot more history to this, which would take days to recount here-musicologists do their dissertations on topics like this), Pythagorean tuning (mean-tone temperment), which uses pure 5ths & 4ths in a diatonic scale, is appropriate for early music.

Participant
    unknown-user on #164755

I think that the future is in different tunings.
    when we have experimented with melodic range and rhythms, where next only surely tunings?
    Andy

Participant
    sherry-lenox on #164756

So put in VERY simple language (I never really understood this but I can SING in pitch) I will have a happier result with my lever harp if I tune it to an electronic keyboard than to an individual note tuner Korg 20? I am almost able to understand the E flat tuning, but after I tuned the harp today I had some problems when playing in different keys. I know I tend to hear sharp but it seems to me that electronic keyboard tuning should balance everything out?

Participant
    unknown-user on #164757

I don’t know anything about

jennifer-buehler on #164758

If your harp sounds out of tune when you play in different keys you may need to regulate some of your levers.

tony-morosco on #164759

I think it is necessary to differentiate between the two different meanings of “tuning” that can be confusing. By different tunings that could mean either different temperaments, which is what I think you are referring to, and tuning strings to actual different notes.