column

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Tuners!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

Hello everyone! I’m new to learning harp and I’ve been using an app on my phone for a tuner called “gStrings”. I’ve always used it to tune my guitar but I’m wondering how effective it could actually be…I find it kind of iffy sometimes when I’m trying to tune the higher strings, which I would expect from a phone application. That said, do a lot of you use phone apps as tuners? Do you have recommendations for a tuner I should maybe invest in? Just wondering if there are tuners that are good specifically for harps or if I could just go to any music store and pick one up. Thanks!

Tracey

barbara-brundage
    Participant

With an app, I think you’ll get better results if you use some kind of pickup like this (available under many brand names at any music store) to isolate the harp sound:

http://www.harpcenter.com/product/korg-cm100-l-contact-clip-pick-up/

You need something like this to get the sound into the phone/tablet:

http://www.petersontuners.com/index.cfm?category=151

You just plug the tuning pickup into the quarter inch end and the small end into the phone. Of course, you can just use the mic in the phone, but you’ll pick up a lot of ambient sound as well, which makes it hard to get a clear signal.

I personally prefer cleartune or istrobosoft for apps, but if you’re a beginner it may be easier to tune with a standalone tuner, since they aren’t as sensitive to overtones as the apps are, and don’t waver around as much. Even the inexpensive Korg tuners work well. Just make sure you get a chromatic tuner rather than a guitar tuner.

Jeralee
    Participant

I use a traditional Korg tuner for the most part, but occasionally I forget to bring it with me when I go down to the music school to teach. I have insTuner Lite app. It works fine for what I need it to do.
    For a metronome, when I don’t have a traditional one with me, I use “SilverDial”