harpcolumn

Trying to decide on my first ‘big’ harp…

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Trying to decide on my first ‘big’ harp…

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Gary C

Hello

I’m an amateur folk harp player, been learning for about 8 months on a pakistan built “Glenluce” (which part of Pakistan will you find Glenluce in ?) 22 string knee harp.

Both my teacher and I think that a better instrument would be of great value – I’ve always tried to own good quality instruments in whatever I’ve been playing – keyboard guitar or ukulele. I have a couple of lovely hand made soprano ukuleles – fanastic tone.

Anyway, I digress. I’ve narrowed the choice down to two Camac harps, the 34 Alliance strung Hermine and the 38 Nylon strung Melusine. I’ve settled on these two because they have a reasonably affordable long term rental with purchase option here in the UK. Anything else seems to have either only short (< 12 months) rental, or is outright purchase only. I've been advised to stay away from gut stringing, but I don't know much about the alliance string.

The other fly in the ointment is that I won’t be able to try either of these before commencing the rental, it’s just too far to travel. About a 16 hour round trip :-(

I’m pretty confident that both these instruments will be night-and-day better than this wee knee harp, which is itself rented and will be going back once the new one arrives.

So, sorry for the rambling post – any opinions on those two instruments, the difference between nylon and alliance?

Thanks for reading

Tacye
    Participant

What sort of music do you want to play and what are your priorities in the harp?

Gary C

My preffered genre is english and irish trad. Songs like country gardens, greensleves, olde folk tunes. That sort of thing.

Gary C