harpcolumn

trying to buy a nice lap/travel harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories trying to buy a nice lap/travel harp

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    haeddre
    Participant

Hello everyone!
    This is my first time posting on this forum and I came because I really need some advise. I have been playing the harp for 7 years and am currently playing a 40 string pedal harp from Lyon Healy. I’m now looking to buy something smaller and more portable to bring to college with me so I can stay in practice. I am looking for something with good sound (I’m not a big fan of the therapy harps I have heard) and pretty standard string spacing. Also, I am a petite person (5’2″) and I really do want this to be a harp that can rest pretty comfortable on my lap.

I have found many harps online and I really don’t know how to choose so I’m hoping that I can get some feedback on them:
    Niamh 27
    25 String Lap Harp from Another Era (scroll down a bit)
    Juno 25 from Salvi
    One of the Stoney End harps
    Allegro from Dusty Strings
    One of the Blevins Harps lap harps such as this one
    one of the Harps of Lorien lap harps

I am anxious for any feedback people have on these harps or any other recomendations/input that you might have!

Many thanks

susan-ash
    Participant

I play a 36 string level harp…and when looking to buy a small harp was frustrated with the the string spacing, tension and tone of most lap harps. Finally I purchased the Niamh 27. The spacing and tension is the best I have seen in such a small harp. But, I will say that the bottom of the sound board is wide….at 14″. But that is the reason it has such good tone and tension.