harpcolumn

Training the large thumb joint

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Training the large thumb joint

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

Hi Kathie! Your post really interested me, as I am working right now with a hand therapist on an article for Harp Column magazine. I have one of those thumb joints that constantly collapses…..it has been that way for the 20 years I’ve played the harp and it is probably worse now than it was when I started due to overuse in playing. I met the author of our article (Carol Duffy) at the American Harp Society Conference last summer, where she confirmed what I had suspected all along: I am missing a tendon in my thumb, and it will NEVER be strait.

College was a real trial for me. I studied with the wonderful Alice Chalifoux, who is a very strict technician and very big on hand position. Every lesson was the same: Ms. Chalifoux would distress over my thumbs and give me all sorts of exercises to strenthen them. But neither of us realized the real problem, that my thumb was physically unable to straiten.

If this sounds depressing, I’ll tell you the good news, which is that my hand position is better than ever now, despite my collapsing thumb.

unknown-user
    Participant

Katherine and Kim…You just can’t imagine how happy I am to see someone write in about this.

unknown-user
    Participant

After a teaching hiatus of many years, I found myself suddenly thrust

back into it several years ago. Most of it came back pretty quickly,

but one thing has me stumped. How does one help a student strengthen

and train the large thumb joint to stay out where it belongs, instead

of constantly collapsing and ruining the hand position? I’ve tried

everything I can think of with one particular college student, who