harpcolumn

Tips for purchasing an antique harp?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Tips for purchasing an antique harp?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Ariana D
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I’m a very novice harp player looking to purchase my first pedal harp. I have found one in my neighborhood from the mid 19th century for a very reasonable price (J & J Erat is the maker). I have not visited it yet, but I could use some advice regarding what to watch for.

I have already discerned that I must beware of cracks to the soundboard and some other obvious structural issues, but are there other things that I should beware of? Would it be difficult to play modern music on a 19th century harp, for example?

Thank you!!!

kay-lister

I would contact Carl Swanson or Howard Bryan and get their opinions.

sherry-lenox
    Participant

If you’re a very novice player take an experienced harpist or your teacher with you. I bought my Wurlitzer from Howard Bryan, who told me all kinds of interesting things about it, and when my teacher played it for the first time she told me several more interesting things.

Harps are quite unlike many other instruments in that they can sound pretty good and be a mess.

ALSO they are so darned pretty to look at that they can sway you too far away from reality.

barbara-brundage
    Participant