harpcolumn

The Harp and body: Physical Therapy for harpists and dealing with pain.

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Performing The Harp and body: Physical Therapy for harpists and dealing with pain.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    jenny miller
    Participant

Hey guys, I want to talk about a problem that most (if not all) deal with consistently. Pain. Whether it’s chronic, acute, nerve pain, etc., we have all dealt with some type of pain while playing. Mostly we talk about blisters and finger pain, but I’m talking about the deeper pain, that can often keep us from enjoying playing, or even playing at all.
    Here’s my background story: When I was a sophomore in college, I was diagnosed with thoracic outlet syndrome, which was accompanied by severe upper back pain, and even tingling and numbness (and pain) throughout my arm and hands. I was afraid I would have to stop playing. When I realized what it was, it completely made sense. TOS is pretty much the over-strengthening of the back muscles (think sitting at a harp for HOURS with arms extended) and a weakening of the chest muscles (rounded shoulders–which are necessary to play!). This is one of the most common issues that harpists deal with. So what do you do about it? Here enters my amazing husband….a physical therapist. I dealt with this problem throughout my entire college career—undergrad, masters, doctorate..and the only way I (thought I) could really deal with it was to practice less and in smaller increments. However, after watching my husband go through PT school and now practicing, he taught me a LOT about what the pain was caused from, and how I could treat it, AND prevent it.