harpcolumn

Suddenly going to college… What now?!

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play Suddenly going to college… What now?!

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    natalie-wagner–2
    Participant

First I’d like to thank all the kind people who have answered and asked questions on this forum, because it has helped me find a lot throughout the years!

My name’s Natalie and I’m 19 years old. For a quick background, I’ve been playing harp since I was 11 but never dedicated myself to it (under an hour of practice a day until this year). I wasn’t sure what to do about college when I graduated this spring, so I decided to wait. I woke up one morning about a month ago feeling God call me to go back to college (I had been a dual enrollment student and taken college level classes). This was absolutely terrifying to think about, because I had in no way, shape, or form prepared myself for this. I have poor technique, next to no classical repetoire, and have never performed in an ensemble.

Now for the people who are not religious, I hope you will still read and understand that I trust the God of the bible. It’s weird to describe being “called” by God, since a thunderbolt doesn’t boom out that you must do something. It’s a subtle whisper that leads me to some things, the harp being one of them. I had always thought I was doing it for fun and could freelance on the side a little bit. I have no idea what His plan is, but for now it’s to get a higher education!

And for those who are concerned that I’m in a cult and doing this against my free will, while I was at first scared out of my wits, as I started researching it I became more and more excited! I’m sure lots of you have had wonderful college experiences and I would love to hear about them! 🙂