harpcolumn

Substitute for string set?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Substitute for string set?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Norah Calamy

Here’s another question (because I’m relatively new to harp). If I’m not able to purchase the standard Ogden string set (which is more than $400) could I buy the cheaper nylon strings for the LH Shamrock or Folk Harp?

Thanks!

brook-boddie
    Participant

Norah,

The Sylvia Woods website says that nylon strings are an acceptable substitute on the Ogden, but you’d need to be sure it’s pedal nylon and not lever.

Norah Calamy

Thanks for the information! I have had trouble finding pedal nylon rather than lever… Maybe I’m looking in all the wrong places 🙂

So what sort of “skeleton set” would you recommend?

Thanks again, Norah

tony-morosco
    Participant

Yes, the standard Ogden, which is sometimes listed as the gut strung Ogden, is strung with Pedal harp string, so any pedal harp string of the same note and octave can be used. The recommended stringing is pedal nylon in the first and second octave and pedal gut in the 3rd through (most of) the 5th. From the 5th octave G down the rest of the way you would use bass wires.

However the harp itself is built to be able to be strung with any combination of gut or nylon you like, so you can do all nylon or all gut if you prefer as long as they are Pedal gut and nylon.

There is another version of the Ogden which is strung with Lever nylon and Lever bass wires and that one you can’t substitute the gut on it.

So is your Ogden the kind with gut or with lever nylon? If it is the gut strung version then the Shamrock string won’t work because the Shamrock uses lighter gauge string.