harpcolumn

Students giving up after about a month

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Students giving up after about a month

Tagged: ,

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Samantha B
    Participant

I’ve been teaching harp for a few years now, although I’m still relatively green. At the beginning of the school year, it seems I’ll always get a student who will try for about a month, and then give up and quit. I also teach piano, and have many more piano students, and this NEVER happens with my piano students.

I also live in a city without many harpists, harps, or harp students. Getting materials for new students can be a hassle, so when a student quits so soon it can feel frustrating that I made all that effort.

What I’m wondering is, does anyone else have this problem? Do you tell your students you expect a commitment of a certain number of months? I feel like it’s not my demeanour, I make an effort to make everyone feel welcome and like they are progressing well, and my piano students don’t seem to have an issue with me. Am I being too strict about technique? (Not that you could know without being there for the lesson, but I wonder.) I also wonder if I should try different lesson books. Recently I’ve been using Sylvia Woods’ Teach Yourself to Play the Folk Harp because it doesn’t need levers and is easy to get where I live.

Anyway, all thoughts are appreciated!

wil-weten
    Participant

I like Sylvia Woods’ Teach Yourself to Play the Folk Harp, but for me, when I was an absolute starter, it went way too fast for me.

I can imagine other students feeling they are a failure when they just have to practice the same exercises again and again without the feeling of progress.