harpcolumn

String Popping Prevention

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories String Popping Prevention

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    lisa-green
    Participant

Hi. I’m an amateur adult still fairly new to the pedal harp. Now that summer seems to be on its way (at least for today), I can feel that string popping season is on. I am learning to recognize when a string is going to break (going out of tune, etc.).

So, when that happens, is there any way to prevent that string from popping? Or is it just better to change the darn thing before it flips me in the eye?

Lisa

If the string has dents in it near the discs, or if it will not stay in tune, it’s time to replace it. Sorry; that’s all I can suggest. I always have a spare set of strings on hand, just in case a random string breaks even when it looks fine.

emma-graham
    Participant

When they’ve got to go, they’ve got to go! I’m not sure it’s possible to prolong the life. Someone (Carl?) may have some tips about humidity, heat etc that could help stop them breaking prematurely but I too just keep a spare set and change them when they ping. On the plus side, in over 25 years, I’ve never been hit by a breaking string!

(On a slightly different track, I seem to have two harps with an “anything you can do, I can do better” mentality. When one breaks a string, the other will also break one within a day or two. Spooky! Anyone else find this?)

HFLINN
    Participant