harpcolumn

Soundboard question

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Soundboard question

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Maggy C
    Participant

Hi all,

I’m in the market to buy a harp, and recently found a (used – 15yo) Salvi Aurora. It’s been routinely regulated by a known company, and looks good, but the owner mentioned that the sound board had been strengthened (also by another harp company). I’ve played harp for a long time, but this is my first time buying, so I wondered: 1. is this soundboard thing normal? (the owner said it was to make the instrument last longer), and 2. is a 15 yo Salvi still a good instrument to get? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated! 🙂

Gretchen Cover
    Participant

My experience with Salvi’s is that they are very strongly built.  I sold my 35 year old Aurora four years ago and the only repair needed was to be re-riveted.  I would call Salvi Harps in California and ask about the soundboard.  I cannot figure out any reason for an Aurora to have a soundboard “strengthened” unless there is some underlying problem.  If so, you probably wouldn’t want to buy the harp.  With the information you given, if possible, I would have a harp tech make a pre-purchase inspection. You may also want to talk to the harp tech who last regulated the harp.  Make sure you know the harp has been regulated and strings changed on a regular basis.

Also, Salvi has redesigned their soundboard and they have the “new concept soundboard.” It is a big improvement.  With the euro being so low compared to the dollar, it may be wise to consider buying a new harp, if you are going to buy a Salvi.

Sylvia
    Participant

I was wondering if it’s a straight soundboard or extended.  (I looked at your profile, but there’s no pic of you or your harp.)