column

Smaller harp?

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Smaller harp?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Rachael Rosenbaum
    Participant

Hello all. I’ve been playing the harp for about 4 1/2 years. I currently play a 36-string harp. I use the harp mostly to accompany my voice, as I’m a singer-songwriter, plus for the occasional instrumental composition. Well, I’m about to learn the hammered dulcimer as another instrument for similar purposes. I’ve actually been feeling for a while that such a large harp is really not necessary for me, lovely though it is. I really feel I’d rather have a harp with about 30 strings… I feel that it would make more sense for my purposes and for gigging. Does this make sense? (The only reason I haven’t done it yet is because my husband does not like this idea at all!)

Bonnie Shaljean
    Participant

It makes perfect sense. It really depends on the musical range you want – the smaller the harp, the fewer bass notes. A 30-string range normally goes down to 5th-octave G (bottom line on the bass staff) or sometimes F, which still gives the left hand a decent amount of playing to contribute.

The next common size above that is c. 26 strings, which normally extends down to 5th C (an octave below middle C). Just remember, the smaller you go, the more bass you’ll lose (though the treble range is affected somewhat too, but less limitingly). This can get a bit tinkly and monotonous after awhile. But if you don’t miss those deeper bottom notes, then I can’t see why you shouldn’t. I have a 30-string and I use it all the time, though it’s not my only lever harp and the others are bigger.