harpcolumn

Small Pedal Harps?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Small Pedal Harps?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Kathleen Martin
    Participant

I have a Salvi Egan. I have been studying Suzuki for 6 years and finally am in Book 3 (halfway) Slow progress due to travel, broken arm, etc etc., but now in Book 3 I am finally liking playing and motivated to progress faster with more intense work. AT this point I am finding levers annoying and wonder if I would find a pedal harp a little more comfortable. I Know that the Salvi Daphne is only 54″ tall, and would be looking for a small pedal harp since I anticipate moving into smaller apartment in the next couple of years. Any advice on :

|1) Switching from lever to pedal harp – how hard is it to make the transition?

2) Merits of Various Pedal harps-I play usually for myself or small groups, no ambition or skill thus far to play orchestrally.

3) My harp is 6 years old, in great condition but too old to meet the posted trade in policies of Lyon and Healy West (which is the nearest harp center–I live in Idaho–my harp teacher is 150 miles away). Any suggestion on the best way to sell the harp and how to price it–its current list price is $5500.

Thanks to anyone for advice!

diana-day
    Participant

After the study you’ve done, I don’t think you’ll find it hard at all to move to pedal harp. Be sure to try the Lyon & Healy Chicago 40 — they have a lovely tone and only weigh 62 pounds — light by pedal harp standards.