harpcolumn

Salzedo Guru Questions

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Salzedo Guru Questions

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Alicia D. Strange
    Participant

Well, perhaps you don’t need to be

catherine-rogers
    Participant

I don’t know about stiff arms, but Miss Chalifoux told me never to stick the pinky finger out. It should be right next to the ring or fourth finger and do as it does.

tony-morosco
    Participant

I studied with a woman who was a student of both Lawrence and Salzedo and she never had me stick my pinky straight out. Since the pinky is so short compared to the ring finger it rarely gets in the way, and to be honest I have never given much thought to what I do with it. I just let it “hang” naturally.

As for “stiffness of the arms” I think that refers mostly to unnecessary tension. This is for two main reasons.

One is as you mentioned, tendonitis as well as CTS. Tension and rigidity in the arms, wrists and hands can lead to several different forms of repetitive motion injury. Being relaxed and allowing your arms and hand to actually move a little can help prevent this.

The other thing is mobility. Tense arms are full of resistance and hard to move. Of course if your arms are so relaxed that your elbows drop down to

unknown-user
    Participant

The majority of my training is Salzedo, and I have never heard of
    playing with the pinky straight out. I have one
    CD cover on which the harpist has a curled pinky and have wondered
    about that. I learned Salzedo method from someone who studied with
    Chalifoux and one who studied with Druzinsky. I understand the Salzedo
    technique to have the pinky work in alignment with the fourth finger.
    The fingers work as a unit. When the pinky works independently of the