harpcolumn

Replacing String for First Time, Keeps Breaking

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Replacing String for First Time, Keeps Breaking

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Kathleen Dougherty
    Participant

Greetings! I’m new to the harp, have had an Ogden for three weeks on L&H’s Rent to Own program. Lucked out and found a Celtic harp instructor in Salt Lake City who is a gem. First lesson in a couple days! (I now know that the Ogden isn’t quite optimal for the folk tunes I’d like to play, but she’ll be fine for learning on the next five months of rental. My sainted husband agreed to accompany me to the Big Sky Folk Harp Festival–!!!–so I’ll have a chance to see many fine folk harps soon).

My dilemma: Over a week ago, the No. 8 string broke (Octave II, E, gut), and I bought a replacement from L&H. Hesitated on the replacement since the instructions in the L&H book intimidated me! Yesterday, though, lo and behold, the No. 9 string was broken. So I girded my loins, practiced the slip knot with a leather shoe lace, then went forth with the real E string with the bit of high gauge gut toggle and…broke the string each time I gingerly cranked the tuning pin. Two attempts, two breaks in the soundbox.

I’ve read Thormahlen’s, Harp Tech, and Sylvia Woods instructions (and reread L&H instructions), trying to nail down where I’m going wrong. My husband the Brilliant Engineer says the problem is at the slip knot–where the string appears to break each time–but I’m at a loss. Also running out of E string! One difference among these various string knot methods is where the toggle/spline is inserted. I’m thinking of next trying the Sylvia Woods alternative Harp Knot, which has the toggle wrapped a few times (instead of the one loop as in the L&H method).