harpcolumn

Replacing pedal felts when regulating

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Replacing pedal felts when regulating

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    charles-nix
    Participant

I’ve noticed that replacing pedal felts is a standard first step in a professional regulation. My question is: if they’re not significantly worn, why?

My profession is pipe organ builder. When we replace bushings or any other felt, we do it only when worn out, because any replacement will pack in over the next few years, and then require yet further adjustment after the packing occurs.

So what is different about harps? If the wear level indicates that the cloth will easily last without tearing or failure for several more years, why not regulate with the existing felt? It looks like new felt would just guarantee the need to reregulate after the new felt packs in.

I’m not at all attacking the practice; just don’t understand what makes the harp application different from everyone else who uses bushing cloth.

Thanks!

Charles Nix

brian-noel
    Participant

I think a harp tech would say that after a year or two of normal usage, the felts pack down (whether they are entirely bushing cloth or rubber wrapped in cloth) to the point where either they are likely to tear or they start becoming noisy when pedaling, so changing them out at the time of regulation just makes sense, since regulations generally occur every year or two as well. This way, the regulation is done with the new felts in place. If, however, the felts are in good shape, you are correct, they don’t have to be changed.

carl-swanson
    Participant