harpcolumn

Reaching 1st octave

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Reaching 1st octave

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    mike-c
    Participant

I’m a newbie who has only been playing about 1 year. I have a 46 string semi-grand and I love it. The problem I’m having is that it’s quite hard to get my hand into the 1st octave ( or 0th octave ? ) , pretty much anything above the 2nd C string.

I will ask my teacher at my next lesson, but does anyone here have any tips or wisdom on playing those high strings ? Or just…practice, practice, practice ?

Mike, I have no good answer for a man trying to play on those high harp strings; your hands are larger and that’s a good thing out in the real world! Although you love your present harp, you can love another one perhaps, in the future. Consider going to the next big harp conference (Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, July 2011)

unknown-user
    Participant

I think Carl has addressed this issue when talking about replacing necks – he adds extra to the block and increases the accessibility to the upper octave strings – David Williams did the same thing to my blue concert grand harp several years ago by adding a shim to the existing neck – it makes all the difference in the world – don’t know what area you are in or what you are close to in the way of technicians, but it is a fix that would let you keep your present harp –
    John Strand

carl-swanson
    Participant