Raising?

Posted In: Young Harpists

• Participant
    unknown-user on #167727

I’m a beginner harpist (Seriously, I’ve only been taking for two weeks, but I guess we’ve all
    got to start somewhere). You know how you’re supposed to “raise” your hand after playing
    a string? This seems like such a ridiculous question, I feel stupid for asking this, but, when
    playing a fast-paced song, or an extremely fast-paced song, is it still necessary to “raise?”

Participant
    carl-swanson on #167728

James- Congratulations on starting the harp!

Participant
    unknown-user on #167729

Thanks for the answer! I feel so forgetful, because I remember that my teacher did
    say something about different styles of playing the harp, and that mine is Salzedo. I’ll
    be sure to check into the ‘Salzedo vs. Grandjany’ thread. Thanks again!

Participant
    amanda-acosta on #167730

Dear James,
    The raising is only for relaxing. I play with the Salzedo technique, and no, when you are playing really really fast you dont raise as much as your probably learning how to do now. But you do end up being more relaxed and avoid injuries if you do raise.
    Hope you enjoy the harp!

Participant
    carl-swanson on #167731

More relaxed than what?

Participant
    unknown-user on #167732