harpcolumn

Progress/Milestones

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Young Harpists Progress/Milestones

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Averil Chandler
    Participant

I’ve been playing the harp for a few months now and I’ve been
    wondering. How much did you guys progress after six months, a year,
    5 years etc. of playing? What were your milestones as you
    progressed?

unknown-user
    Participant

You will progress very quickly in the first months and years (even if you put very little effort into it!). Your progress will be less drastic with the more time you play, but every new piece you learn is progress, even if the new piece is no more challenging than the last. Milestones are really what you make them to be. I started when I was quite young, so any milestones I’ve had will undoubtedly be different than your own.

Just to list a couple of my own: getting my first lever harp (age 7), switching teachers and consequently learning more advanced music (age 9/10), learning and getting a pedal harp (age 10), playing my first paying gigs (age 10/11), learning Solfeggietto (age 11), playing my first wedding (age 13?), et cetera.

unknown-user
    Participant