harpcolumn

Progressing on the harp for a beginner

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Progressing on the harp for a beginner

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    jean-mac
    Participant

I recently participated in a harp camp and found that the young performers were outplaying me all the time, and I found myself just playing thirds, one base note, etc. and would like some advice on advancing at the harp, but

sherry-lenox
    Participant

Hi jean- I’ve been playing for 3 years, and to me, playing the harp is more unlike playing any other instrument than I can think of.

I’m originally a woodwind person, then a singer, and one of my claims to fame was that i could pick up most any instrument and play it respectably. Well, of course, I was stopped cold with picking up the harp (sorry bad joke) but in all seriousness I doubt that I would have made as much progress as I have without the lessons I take with an excellent teacher.

To me, there’s just so much to be doing at once while playing a harp- all body parts in correct places and positions, having to look 2 or 3 places at once, and so on.

It really has taken me the three years to just know how and when I have to drill a certain group of measures before I can incorporate them into the piece, and I still depend on slow steady practice in order to get a piece up to tempo.

I definitely work on specifics such as rolled chords and trills in isolation because for me, that time is never wasted- I know I’ll always be finding those “harpistic” things in everything i play as I advance.