harpcolumn

Producing a good tone with bony fingers

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play Producing a good tone with bony fingers

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

How do you do it? Everything I’ve read about getting a good tone really talks about using the fleshy pads of your fingers and I don’t have any! 🙂 I also have nails that grow right to the edges of my fingers so even when they’re super short I can get a harsh sound. I am primarily self taught. I know that lessons would help but that’s not financially feasible right now.

Thanks!

Jennifer

Jerusha Amado
    Participant

Hi Jennifer,
    Thanks for bringing up this topic! I have bony fingers and very little flesh on them. I just make the best of what I have, but I’m envious of Sam Karlinski’s fleshy pads!
    I hope that others in our boat write back with any tips to create lush tones.

The harp I play is fairly compact so I wonder how much the shorter string length makes a difference as well.

Certainly, there are large variations among harps and their tone qualities. Experiment with the angle of your fingers and see how much of the fingertip to put on the string to get the best possible tone. Make sure your fingers pull all the way into the palm in a downward direction. If you are pulling upwards, you won’t get as much focus on the sound. Once your fingers are closed in your palm, let them fall out gently onto the strings, without rising above the knuckles. Approach the strings from below, not above. This will prevent the nails from hitting the strings first. If anything touches first, it will be the front or side of the finger, which will dampen any vibrating strings, and will prevent naily sounds. Try to make room in your budget for at least one lesson a month, and check out the teaching videos on Youtube. There a quite a few now. Best of luck!