harpcolumn

Pressing in on discs

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Pressing in on discs

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Mel Sandberg
    Participant

When I was a student, I recall learning that the discs on a pedal harp must be able to be pressed in slightly.

carl-swanson
    Participant

Mel- Each disc on the harp is screwed onto a spindle-a steel bar that runs between the two action plates. Each spindle has a brass action arm pressed onto knurling on its shaft and the linkage is riveted to the action arm.

The chain of movement in a pedal harp when you move a pedal is this: When you press your foot on the brass pedal, that moves the steel pedal bar inside the pedestal, which moves the pedal rod that runs up the column, which moves the main action gears at the column end of the action. Those gears divide the pedal rod movement between the natural and sharp chains, i.e., the linkage. The linkage moves the brass action arm which moves the spindle which moves the disc.