column

Practice Suggestions…

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Practice Suggestions…

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    vince-pierce
    Participant

I’m open to just about any advice you all have. I really want to make
    some big advancements this summer in my playing, and I would love to
    have some input from those of you who have been through this already!

carl-swanson
    Participant

Vince- As a teacher myself, I would need a lot of information about your current situation, what level you are playing at, what you’ve already worked on, how you have gone about learning technique, what your own teacher is like, etc. to make any kind of suggestion that would be useful to you.

Having said that, I can say that you can put in an enormous amount of time and effort and get nowhere because you are practicing inefficiently, practicing the wrong material for your level, or have a teacher who really doesn’t know how to move you forward. I’m always amazed at the number of students I encounter who have been with the same teacher for years and have not improved. They just sort of tread water. There are numerous things that you can do to improve, but simply putting a lot of time in is no guarantee of success.