harpcolumn

Please Help – Which Model to Rent/Buy?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Please Help – Which Model to Rent/Buy?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Sarah Brooks
    Participant

Hi I’m a newbie and I’m looking to rent a harp for at least 3 months before buying. I know nothing about the sound/quality/longevity of the different makes and although I’ve listened to some being played on youtube etc. it’s very hard to work out what would be best for me. I’ve had various makes recommended (by two professional harpists and a beginner), but feel utterly confused and would appreciate advice from anyone who has played or owned these makes:

Telynau Teifi Gwennol or Eos
    Camac Hermine, Melusine, Cambria, Korrigan, Stivell
    Lyon and Healy Troubadour
    Salvi Prima 34 (or a more professional model)
    Triplett signature 36

I want at least 34 strings and my musical tastes are very broad so I hope to play a mixture of traditional songs (Celtic-style pieces and early music), modern ‘chart’ (easy listening kind of things), hymns, and possibly some classical pieces. I’m going to have lessons to start me off, I’m 5 foot 5 inches tall and will be an adult learner.

I’m based in the UK and hope to attend a harp festival to see some of
    the brands mentioned later this month, but the Troubador and Triplett
    models won’t be there.

Any advice about type of strings (nylon or gut), levers etc. would be most welcome, but especially opinions on the makes mentioned above. Thank you.

sherry-lenox
    Participant

Be sure to play the Eos. Some of us newer players were really impressed with its sound when it was advertised here a year or so ago. I haven’t played it, but the sound of it playing a Welch national song (don’t know the name) would wring your heart.