harpcolumn

Playing in a hospital

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Playing in a hospital

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

I would like to play my harp in a hospital, but I’m still a beginner
    harpist. How do I begin looking for easy pieces to learn? All the songs
    I know are very short. I make Greensleeves longer by playing the melody
    first, then again with the bass notes. I play it fast and slow, up an
    octave or down an octave. This style of play doesn’t work with most of
    my songs, however. Is there a book anyone can recommend? I’m slow to
    read music, but I memorize quickly once I have the fingering down.

Thanks!

unknown-user
    Participant

Hi Candace

I played in a hospital for a lady and I guess it went off well. Whenever I played there was a group of nurses and other patients outside the room asking me to keep going. The lady said she enjoyed it too. Now she was in palliative care and I found the best thing for her, was simple hymns, folk songs (Ash Grove, Carrick Fergus, Greensleeves as you mention, and such songs). As a general rule, people on serious amounts of pain killers, and older patients

unknown-user
    Participant

Please excuse the redundancy in the phrase ” older patients

unknown-user
    Participant

Hi Candace.

I would strongly recommend taking a course in musicianship at the bedside, as there is much more to playing in a hospital than you may realize.

unknown-user
    Participant

I have played in a hospital, in a NICU ward and a cancer ward.

Fairy Reel
    Participant