harpcolumn

Play lever harp pieces on pedal harp?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Play lever harp pieces on pedal harp?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    daniele-di
    Participant

Hi,

sorry for the silly question but I am a beginner.
    I`m going to send back my 26 strings lever harp soon and rent a pedal harp.
    I love the lever harp and I have lots of lovely folk music pieces to play with it, but I also want to try a pedal harp to understand what fits better for me.

My question is, can lever harp pieces be played on pedal harps? well, I know that probably the answer is yes, but maybe I am missing some point…is there some sort of difficulties-obstacle to play lever harp pieces with a pedal harp?

Thank you

Daniele

kay-lister

Daniele – yes you can.

barbara-brundage
    Participant

The only thing you would really need to watch out for is that when you move a pedal all the strings with that note change together. So sometimes in lever harp pieces you may have a chord with a C# on top and a C natural on the bottom in a lever harp arrangement, for instance. On the pedal harp you would need to think to use D flat for the top note instead, or else B# for the bottom one, as an example. But you won’t find that sort of thing very often.

daniele-di
    Participant

Thank you very much for your reply.

Well, I hope some day I`ll have both a pedal and a lever harp 🙂 but for now I`m in that period where I have to find what suits better for me.

I want to try the pedal harp mainly because most of the pieces I`d like to play are piano pieces and they told me that probably a pedal harp would be the best choice.
    I don`t know if it`s completely true, maybe a big lever harp would be enough…but I`d like to try anyway 🙂

Thank you

Daniele

barbara-brundage
    Participant