harpcolumn

Piano parts on harp?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Coffee Break Piano parts on harp?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    victoria-m
    Participant

Hello everyone, I’m fairly new here and would like to share my recent experience and ask for your advice.

I am an amateur harpist that plays for hobby and last month I was asked to substitute in for a friend of mine, who plays in the local orchestra, for their Christmas concert. I was okay with most of the pieces as I got the parts a week before and had time to learn them.

However on the day before the concert, they decided to add a new piece. A soprano solo with strings and piano accompaniment…and since they don’t have a pianist, I was shoved the piano part and was expected to be able to play it at once.

Needless to say it was a complete disaster. It wasn’t terribly difficult (I’d probably be able to do it if given a few days), but definitely not something I can sightread. With all the pedal changes, the singer’s (many) rubatos and the conductor yelling that he can’t hear me, I made a complete mess.

So after a few disastrous tries, I ended up feeling like a complete failure, with all the orchestra members getting annoyed and giving me the “shouldn’t have hired an incompetent amateur” look. They decided not to do the piece in the end.

I couldn’t help feeling it was a bit unfair though…a harp is much harder to play than a piano…and piano parts are not made to be played on a harp? So do we harpists really have to be able to play piano parts on the spot, or are there any tips and simplifying tricks that we can do? I’m really sorry for bothering you with my story and any help/advice would be really appreciated. Thanks everyone.

Gretchen Cover
    Participant