harpcolumn

Performing for mega church

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Performing Performing for mega church

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Hi! I’m new to this site. I’ve been playing lever harp for about 10 months now and I love it! My fiancĂ© and I have been attending a contemporary “mega church.” I am wanting to get involved musically, preferably the harp. Has anyone ever performed in such a church? How can I get started?

Angela Biggs

Laura, I attended my husband’s contemporary church for a few years, though it is a very small one. They had the projector with the count-down to the service, and the powerpoint sermon, and the 20-minute rock concert before each service, etc. The people in charge of the music just weren’t interested in the harp. The sound techs acted like acoustic music was evil (I’m exaggerating, but it was pretty bad), and they also had very little patience for my harp’s needs; in fact, the leader of that tech team is the reason I have a page on my website dedicated to the ways in which a harp is different from a guitar!