harpcolumn

Pedal Harp HELP

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Coffee Break Pedal Harp HELP

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    David Blauw
    Participant

Hello Harp Column! Before I begin let me clarify that I do NOT play harp. My teenage daughter is learning harp and really enjoys it. I am an engineer, my wife a pianist, we love music, but are new to Harps. My daughter’s teacher recommends that she begin to look into a pedal harp do to her height and her ability, and her teacher really likes L&H. I have read a number of threads both here and elsewhere on the net and have questions that I hope someone can either answer or at least provide some direction. 1. In all of the postings I have read discussions of different harp makers seems to turn ugly quite quickly. I understand that the purchase of a harp, and enjoyment there of is personal, but I have to believe (as an engineer) that there are some advantages of maker x over maker y and vice versa. For instance I live in a cold dry climate in the winter and a Humid climate in the summer is there one brand that holds up better than another to temperature? This can be valuable information (realizing that everyone produces lemons every once in a while). So my question is: what are the advantages/disadvantage of Salvi, L&H, Venus, and Camac? 2. If there are issues that arise with a harp (mechanical in nature), do they more often than not occur within the first 5 years (warranty period on many new harps)? We have visited L&H and Venus, and both appear to be good instruments, but remember we are an engineer, pianist and teenager, we based our judgments on tone, balance, even looks and weight, not on the construction or quality because we are not there yet. Any help to get us to that level is appreciated!!! Thanks in advance!

David Blauw
    Participant

Hello Harp Column!