harpcolumn

Pedal Harp for college?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Pedal Harp for college?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    lauren.crochet
    Participant

Hello all!

I wanted to ask a question. Is it essential to have and play a pedal harp if you want to go to college? I currently play the lever harp and I am going back to school. I am thinking of minoring in music(they have a harp program there) in about 2 years.

I’m not too sure of the protocol. For the audition segment for the college, it just says to play 2 contrasting pieces from the standard harp repertoire. Pedal harp repertoire, and lever harp repertoire, don’t go hand in hand.

Any information about this?

Sylvia
    Participant

Why don’t you contact the harp dept. at that college and ask?
    I studied harp in college (not as a major), and I practiced on the school harps. I never owned a harp till I was out of college. My teacher was happy to have a beginner, but other teachers may not be.