harpcolumn

Pedal harp and bad hips or knees

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Pedal harp and bad hips or knees

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    cyndee-casey
    Participant

I have played lever harp for 8 years and recently started playing pedal harp. I am on a rent to own program with a magnificent Camac Vendome that I have fallen in love with. I have been playing it now for almost 3 months and just love everything about it. I even love doing my pedal exercises as I am hearing chords I have never been able to make before with all the sharps and flats. My concern is that I have some issues with my right hip that my doctor thinks maybe is the start of arthritis (scary for early 50’s) although nothing showed on an recent X-ray. She did not think that playing the pedal harp would make anything worse with my hip but then again it takes more physical effort to play that you would think (obviously for those that do not play one). I have a new appreciation for someone that can play for many hours as I need a break after 30 minutes of pedaling. I know it is still very new to me and I will work up to more time. At this point I am not any more sore or stiff after playing the harp than after sitting in a chair for the same duration of time. I believe if you do not use it you will lose it so I do not want this to deter my dreams of playing this lovely instrument. I am also going to go to a chiropractor for his opinion. I am at the point where I will be making the decision to purchase this harp which is obviously a huge commitment. There must be other people in this forum that may have similar joint issues and I would like to know if playing the harp affects your condition or not. Thank you in advance for any insight you may be able to provide.