Other instruments for harp players

Posted In: Coffee Break

• Participant
    lyn-boundy on #196770

I have been playing the lever harp for around 6-7 years now and it’s still my favourite instrument but I sometimes wonder about trying something else where my harping experience will be an advantage.  What other (stringed) instruments would people suggest where the things I have learned will be helpful.  I have no real desire to learn the pedal harp as my roots are more in folk and pop than in classical music and I’m no singer so it needs to be something that doesn’t need a vocal accompaniment.  Any suggestions?

Participant
    wil-weten on #196771

To my mind main idea of learning to play any musical instrument is to learn how to play music. So, when thinking of another musical instrument, the question is, which one do you love to hear? Perhaps the flute or the clarinet? These wind blown instruments are relatively easy when it comes to chromatic playing and they are very easy to transport… :-))) So, perhaps nice complemental instruments to the harp?

Participant
    Biagio on #196772

Other than the lyre and kora , I can’t think of any stringed instrument with similar technique (and not really that similar come to think of it).  However there are several instruments that sound very nice with the harp.  Winds, as Wil suggests in particular (to my ear) recorders and flutes.  Cello or violin is always great – or consider the fairly new bowed dulcimers by Nic Hambas and Ken Bloom.

If you want to stay in the “harpish” realm however consider the  wire, double, or cross strungs.

Biagio

Participant
    randal on #196773

https://youtu.be/vSmNln6vT4k