harpcolumn

Opinions on thumb-under or thumb-over

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Opinions on thumb-under or thumb-over

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Karen Johns
    Participant

This has probably been discussed somewhere on this forum before. I currently play using the thumb-over fingers (thumbs-up) technique. I always thought this was the correct way to play the harp. Granted I am self-taught and I could be wrong. Has anyone tried both methods? What are the pros and cons of both? Are both techniques used in classical harp playing? I know the thumbs-under is used with the wire harp. Are there names for these two techniques or a history behind them?

Thanks! (I hope I haven’t opened too big of a can of worms here- if so, I apologize in advance) ;-)

Karen

tony-morosco
    Participant

I have heard people refer to this before but to be honest I have never been clear exactly what they mean.

If “thumbs-over” simply means playing with the thumbs up, then that is what I do. I’m a Salzedo player and that is how both Salzedo and French players do it.

I have seen wire strung players who play with the thumb more down because it allows for better use of the nail on the thumb, and many South and Central American players play in a similar way for the same reason.

But for the

Karen Johns
    Participant

Tony,

I came across this website in my research and this is what led to my questions:

http://encyclopedia.stateuniversity.com/pages/9513/harp.html