column

Old Harp

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Old Harp

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Lacy Burnett
    Participant

Hello to all! I am new to the forum and am looking for some help. I’m an amateur harpist, and I own 2 lovely working folk harps, and one large older harp that’s just for pretty. However the “just for pretty” harp bugs me, because while it hopefully had a good long life of music, I know nothing about it. My wonderful brother bought it for me at a thrift store, thinking it would be a nice decoration, and it’s a type of harp that I’m unfamiliar with. It has no markings that I can see to identify the builder, and an unfortunate amount of damage. I doubt very much it could be played again, but could be wrong.
    Could anyone here give me some info on what sort of harp it is? It would be nice to be able to give some background for it to visitors and such!
    Thanks in advance!

john-strand
    Participant

Looks like some kind of Paraguyan harp to me – some closeups of the neck area without the drape would help however, it looks to me like the strings go up through the center of the neck and that’s one characteristic of those harps – you might try a google picture search on “paraguyan harp” and see if pics come up that are similar to yours –

It also looks to me like you have it leaning against a niche in the wall – that’s also characteristic as they are not built to “stand up” – the strings also look closely spaced – nice color to the wood

well, have fun with your search –

Lacy Burnett
    Participant

Thanks, John! I wondered if that might be the answer, but the funny thing is, the strings don’t go through the center, they are actually on the side like a traditional celtic harp. It does have to lean back though, and the front pillar is very light. I think it’s built for a much lighter tension than my other harps, and the strings have no coloring on them at all.

Tacye
    Participant