harpcolumn

Muzikkon harps, Dublin

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Muzikkon harps, Dublin

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    rhavon67
    Participant

I’m looking at buying a harp for my daughter, 26 + strings. I’ve found some inexpensive ones at Muzikkon that read well and look good but I’m abroad in Australia and can’t visit the showroom. The company seems to have started in April 2016, so not around for long and I can’t find any negative reviews online . I’m wondering if anyone has had any experience with these harps or knows some who has?

charles-nix
    Participant

First off, I have no experience with that particular harp. However, at that price point, which is a fraction of most new harps, one is suspicious that they are Pakistani (or other far east) “harp-shaped objects”. Note in their text that they are careful never to claim anything but design and set-up in Ireland, not manufacturing.

The levers are clearly designed to mimic Truitts–but they aren’t. The levers alone would cost as much as the harp.

All that being said, others have posted here that they have been satisfied with some Pakistani instruments–but there have been horror stories as well.

Personally, I wouldn’t buy any harp without listening in person–or having a local harpist go with you.

There are several respectable US builders making entry instruments. I am sure this is true for other countries, as well. At a similar price is the Harpsicle. Harpists have them for portable instruments. Blevins harps also builds a number of simple models. Major builder Dusty Strings makes the Ravenna 26 at not much more money–and if you can turn one pre-owned, you might be very similar in price.

Charles Nix

Biagio
    Participant